List D countries and vaccination certificates

Provided that in the 14 days prior to entering Italy they have not been in a List E country or in Brazil, India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, travellers coming from List D countries do not have to undergo the 5-day self-isolation, as long as they present both of the following documents:

  • vaccination certificate

  • negative molecular or antigen swab test taken in the 72 hours prior to entering Italy; in the case of arrivals from the UK and Northern Ireland and British Isles, the swab test must be taken in the 48 hours prior to entering Italy

Japan, Canada and the United States

Travellers from Japan, Canada and the United States are allowed to enter Italy without the need to undergo a 5-day self-isolation, upon presentation of the Passenger Locator Form and certification of molecular or antigenic testing carried out within 72 hours prior to entry into the national territory to the competent authorities, as long as they possess:

  • the EU Digital COVID Certificate issued at the end of the prescribed cycle following successful vaccination against SARS-CoV-2 or a certification issued by the local health authorities following a vaccination validated by the European Medicines Agency (EMA)

  • the EU Digital COVID Certificate issued following recovery from COVID-19 or similar certification issued by local health authorities.

Otherwise, those who only have certification of a molecular or antigenic test are obliged to undergo self-isolation for 5 days at the address indicated on the Passenger Locator Form along with a molecular or antigenic test, carried out by swab, at the end of the isolation period.
See the dedicated section: Japan, Canada and the United States

India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Brazil

The new ordinance has extended the entry requirements to 25 October 2021 and introduced new justifications that guarantee entry to Italy for persons travelling from these countries. Go to the section dedicated to India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka and to the Brazil section.

Countries of the European Union and the Schengen area: entry with COVID-19 Green Certificate

The COVID-19 Green Certificate makes it easier to travel to Italy and other countries of the European Union and to the countries of the Schengen area. To enter Italy with the COVID-19 Green Certificate, travellers must meet one of the following conditions, as shown in the Certificate:

  • have completed the prescribed anti-SARS-CoV-2 vaccination cycle

  • or have recovered from COVID-19

  • or have taken a molecular or antigen swab test within 48 hours prior to entering Italy with negative results.

Before leaving, remember to fill out the Passenger locator form

See: the List C Countries page
Find out more about the Green Certificate at

Exemptions, the authorisation forms to enter Italy are online

The Ordinance of April 2, 2021 provided for some reclassifications on the lists of countries in Annex 20 of the Dpcm of March 2, 2021.

Browse lists of information for travelling to and from abroad:

  • List A - Vatican City and Republic of San Marino

  • List B - The States and territories with low epidemiological risk will be identified, among those in List C, by the Ordinance. At present, no state is included on this list.

  • List C - Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark (including the Faroe Islands and Greenland), Estonia, Finland, France (including Guadeloupe, Martinique, Guyana, Reunion, Mayotte and excluding other territories outside the European mainland), Germany, Greece, Ireland, Israel, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands (excluding territories outside the European mainland), Poland, Portugal (including the Azores and Madeira), Czech Republic, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Hungary, Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Andorra, Principality of Monaco.

  • List D - Albania, Saudi Arabia, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei, Canada, United Arab Emirates, Japan, Jordan, Lebanon, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, New Zealand, Qatar, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (including Gibraltar, the Isle of Man, Channel Islands and British bases on the island of Cyprus and excluding territories not belonging to the European continent), Republic of Korea, Republic of North Macedonia, Serbia, Singapore, United States of America, Ukraine, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macao Special Administrative Regions and the States and territories with low epidemiological risk will be identified, among those in List E. Special rules applying to those who have stayed or transited in: Japan, Canada and United States of America

  • List E - Rest of the world - (all States and Territories not specifically referred to in any other list). Special rules applying to those who have stayed or transited in:  

"Covid-tested" Flights - Passenger Locator Form

Covid-tested flights are flights that have been authorised by the Ministry of Health by means of a special ordinance.

To learn more about the requirements and the compulsory procedure go to the dedicated section: Covid-tested flights

EU Digital COVID Certificates on public transport

From 1 September, access to the following means of public transport will be restricted to holders of EU Digital COVID Certificates only:

  • commercial passenger planes

  • interregional passenger ships and ferries, with the exception of those used for maritime connections in the Strait of Messina

  • Inter City, Inter City Night and High Speed passenger rail

  • buses/coaches offering undifferentiated public services, continuously or periodically, on routes that connect more than two regions and with pre-established routes, timetables, frequencies and prices; rental buses/coaches with driver, with the exception of those used to provide supplementary local and regional public transport services.

Useful numbers from the Ministry of Health

For further information please refer to:

Last update: 23 September 2021